Compass addons? - Can the compass be modified/improved?

English discussion about Arma III and LDD Kyllikki

Moderators: Kegetys, Broileri

Post Reply
108-1050795141

Post by 108-1050795141 » Fri, 2.5.2003, 16.54

Is it possible to modify or replace the existing compass? Its a nice compass but the numbers are so hard to read. I could have additional ventilation in my forehead by the time I read my coordinates, ya know?

I'd like to just work on the numbers, make them more legible without modifying the compass itself. Anyone know where its stored?

Peace,
LodeRunner :banana:
Una
Posts: 499
Joined: Mon, 2.9.2002, 21.46
Location: Lohja

Post by Una » Fri, 2.5.2003, 21.36

yes, buy a better graphics card and increase your resolution or switch the 'best performance' setting to 'best image quality'. That really has a huge effect in Flashpoint.
alik Una, 2nd Platoon, Mech recon squad, Assistant leader/AA
Local Defence Detachment Kyllikki
108-1050795141

Post by 108-1050795141 » Sat, 3.5.2003, 14.29

Thanks for your in-depth answer to my question. Perhaps you could share more of your vast OFP knowledge and tell us all, exactly what settings will make that compass readable?

I've set everything to max BEFORE I asked the question, and ran the game at the highest resolution available to me BEFORE I asked the question. I have yet to see one bit of difference in that compass.

You think I should replace my CGA card? I paid $1000 for it in '87..its practically brand new..

Peace,
LodeRunner
Una
Posts: 499
Joined: Mon, 2.9.2002, 21.46
Location: Lohja

Post by Una » Sat, 3.5.2003, 23.47

Hmm, I assumed you have a geforce card or radeon or something as new as those. The setting I mentioned can be found at least from Nvidia's detonator drivers' settings, I have no knownledge if it can be found from other drivers..
alik Una, 2nd Platoon, Mech recon squad, Assistant leader/AA
Local Defence Detachment Kyllikki
108-1050795141

Post by 108-1050795141 » Sun, 4.5.2003, 1.52

Yes, I have a Geforce 256 DDR 64 Meg card. I've been tweaking it some lately, but I still cannot get that compass to be very readable. Still a bit of an eye strain to read the numbers. Thanks for the help though.


Peace,
LodeRunner
User avatar
Goeth
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed, 4.9.2002, 20.45

Post by Goeth » Sun, 4.5.2003, 15.52

I also think that the compass readings should be more clearer. Maybe in the future some certain mod will change that. :D
Goeth, Reserves, Local Defence Detachment "Kyllikki"
Dulce et decorum est pro patria mori
108-1050795141

Post by 108-1050795141 » Sun, 4.5.2003, 21.20

Aye, I have a few mates that I would like to get into the habit of reading the compass..but they all say "I cant read the damn numbers!" lol...I can read it..if I strain my eyes to see it..


Peace,
LodeRunner
Wrench
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon, 2.9.2002, 23.13

Post by Wrench » Fri, 9.5.2003, 15.06

Same here, can't see those damn numbers. :O
Baron Hurlothrumbo IIX

Post by Baron Hurlothrumbo IIX » Mon, 14.7.2003, 23.53

I just use a compass rough direction combined with reading the map as I move to triangulate my position. There's plenty of reference points so I can see exactly what direction to go.
Solly

Post by Solly » Thu, 17.7.2003, 12.01

Just double-click on the compass and then the compass grows...
so, u can read the numbers :p

u can do that with all objects (Clock etc.)

greetz
Post Reply